Previous News:
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
May 2016
April 2016
December 2015
March 2015
January 2015
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
January 2013
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011

Cadmium

California's new cadmium in children's jewelry law (California Health and Safety Code section 25214.2), takes effect on Jan. 1, 2012. It will prohibit the manufacturing, shipping, and sale of children's jewelry or any of the jewelry's components containing more than 0.03 percent (300 ppm) of cadmium as determined by a total weight test. California defines children as 6 and under.
The new restrictions on cadmium apply to small and large manufacturers, retailers, and suppliers in California, including people who make and sell their own jewelry, tattoo and body piercing shops, vending machines, etc., according to California's Department of Toxic Substances Control. Any person who is not in compliance with the law may be subject to fines of up to $2,500 per day for each violation.

In addition, manufacturers and suppliers are required to provide certification that their jewelry does not contain cadmium in violation of the law. Such certification can be in the form of either: a certification document or via a display on the shipping container or on the packaging of the jewelry. The state's Department of Toxic Substances Control can answer vendors' questions via e-mail: leadinjewelry@dtsc.ca.gov, or by calling 1-800-728-6942. From outside California, call 1-916-255-3618. It is the agency's policy to answer inquiries either the same day or the next business day.

Jewelry makers and designers of children's jewelry who seek more information on the new law can visit the Department of Toxic Substances Control webpage Cadmium Information for Businesses. 


California joins Illinois and Minnesota as states that have now placed in effect cadmium in children's jewelry laws. Because the various state laws to regulate cadmium in children's jewelry vary in terms of the definition of children, as well as the kinds of testing required, MJSA is monitoring all cadmium legislation on the state level, and sharing it with members. An updated chart showing the status of various state bills regulating cadmium in children's jewelry is available from MJSA. Click here to request a chart, or call 1-800-444-6572; 1-401-274-3840.
AT: 12/29/2011 10:47:23 AM   LINK TO THIS NEWSLETTER
0 Comments:

Post a Comment
 
Comments are closed.
Copyright © 2009 - 2019 The Retail Jeweler.

Sitemap | Privacy Policy